Welcome to the Pike County Probate Office
Phone: 334-566-1246
Judge Wes Allen
Probate Court
Tags & Licenses
DRIVERS LICENSE
RENEWAL CHART (MV)
TAG MAIL-IN PROGRAM (MV)
TITLES / REGISTRATION
DISTINCTIVE PLATES
MILITARY
TRUCK WEIGHTS / FEES
MOTOR HOME WEIGHTS / FEES
DISABILITY PARKING
MANDATORY INSURANCE
BUSINESS LICENSE
MARRIAGE LICENSE
BOAT REGISTRATION
HUNTING & FISHING LICENSE
Elections
Recording
News & Announcements
Links
Important Numbers
Contact Us
facebook
Twitter


Marriage License

FAQs REGARDING MARRIAGE LICENSES - CLICK HERE



NOTE: "Couples must make an appointment for the Judge to preside over their wedding ceremony, please call  334-566-1246 to schedule an appointment."

FEES

Marriage License..................$53.00
License + Ceremony...........$70.00
Certified Copy.......................$3.00
Certificate...............................$3.00
Amended Copy.....................$15.00

The Probate Court division of our office issues marriage licenses to eligible couples.  The cost is $53.00.  There is no residency requirement in Alabama.  That is, you do not have to be a resident of Pike County or of the State of Alabama to receive a marriage license from our office.  Also,  a blood test is not required prior to receiving your marriage license. 

You must come to the office and complete an application for a marriage license.  No appointment is necessary just to obtain the license only.  Both parties must be present with a valid government issued photo ID. 

Once you receive your marriage license, your marriage must be formalized by a wedding ceremony within thirty (30) days.  Any licensed preacher or active or retired judge may perform the wedding ceremony.  Your marriage license is only authorized for use in the State of Alabama, but you can have your ceremony in another county other than the one that issued the license. If previously divorced, the marriage must be at least 60 days from the final decree of the divorce.

You must be eighteen (18) years of age or older to marry in Alabama without a parent’s consent.  You may get married if you are sixteen (16) years old with both parents’ consent.  You may not marry in Alabama if you are under sixteen (16) years old. 

The Probate Judge and the Chief Probate Clerk are available to perform wedding ceremonies at the Courthouse during business hours.  You must call for an appointment if you want to get married at the Courthouse 334.566.1246.  An additional fee of $17.00 is charged for the wedding ceremony. 

Both parties are required to be present to obtain the marriage license.  The Probate Office is open from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. Monday through Friday except holidays.  We accept cash & checks for marriage licenses or wedding ceremonies.  We cannot accept out-of-state checks.  

 


FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS REGARDING MARRIAGE LICENSES:

 

 

CAN I USE MY ALABMA MARRIAGE LICENSES TO GET MARRIED IN FLORIDA (OR ANY OTHER STATE)?

No.  You may only use an Alabama marriage license to marry in the State of Alabama.  You do not have to get married in the County where you got your license. 

> RETURN TO FAQS <
> RETURN TO TOP OF PAGE <


HOW LONG IS MY MARRIAGE LICENSE VALID?

Thirty (30) days. 

> RETURN TO FAQS <
> RETURN TO TOP OF PAGE <

IS A COMMON LAW MARRIAGE VALIDE IN ALABAMA?

Common-law marriages are valid in Alabama.  This is a complicated legal issue that does not lend itself to an easy explanation.  The basic rules are that a couple who intends to be married, shares a household, and holds themselves out to be husband and wife will have a common-law marriage.  It is important to understand that a common-law marriage must be established by a court ruling before the rules and laws relating to a marriage will apply.  We do not issue any type of certificates or licenses to recognize common-law marriages.  If you have an issue with a common-law marriage, it is strongly encouraged that you discuss it with an attorney. 

> RETURN TO FAQS <
> RETURN TO TOP OF PAGE <


MAY A FOREIGN NATIONAL OBTAIN A MARRIAGE LICENSE FROM THE PROBATE OFFICE?

Of course.  However, the marriage applicants will still need to present some form of government-issued identification (passport, foreign driver’s license, etc.).  If this is a problem, please make an appointment with the probate judge to see if some other form of identification will be acceptable. 

> RETURN TO FAQS <
> RETURN TO TOP OF PAGE <


DO I HAVE TO HAVE BOTH PARENTS' CONSENT TO MARRY IF I AM UNDER THE AGE OF 18?

Yes.  The only exception would be if one of your parents is deceased or has had their parental rights terminated by a court.  A custody order is not sufficient to allow only one parent to consent. 

> RETURN TO FAQS <
> RETURN TO TOP OF PAGE <

 


 

IF YOU HAVE OTHER QUESTIONS, PLEASE CALL US AT 334-566-1246.